FIWMD Commission

The Commission is comprised of five members elected by the registered voters of Fishers Island and has the following responsibilities:

  • full contractual authority for the execution of waste management contracts
  • full contractual authority for the establishment and execution of solid waste management programs and policies on the Island
  • overseeing the operation and management of two facilities on the Island ‐ the Transfer Station located at 58 Town Road, and the Compost Station located at 2760 Whistler Avenue – and management of its decommissioned landfill on Wilderness Road.

David Burnham


January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2025

Gordon Murphy


January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2027

Sarah Malinowski


January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2028

Be part of the solution, not the pollution!

Kate Stevens

Employee Liaison

June, 2022 – December, 2024

Waste is just a resource
looking for a home.

Mere Doyen

Community Liaison

January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2029


The District employs staff for administration and facility operations, including:

  • Operations Manager – responsible for overseeing the daily operations at FIWMD facilities, maintenance, safety, and communicating with the Commission, government authorities, subcontractors, and suppliers.
  • Business and Administrative Manager – responsible for business office operations, human resources, and monthly financial reporting to the Commission
  • Facility Operators and Attendants – responsible for carrying out daily operations at FIWMD facilities

Both managers are authorized to purchase goods and services and are responsible for ensuring compliance with all District purchasing guidelines.

Legal and other consulting services are contracted out and not employees of the District.

Beth Stern

Business & Administration Manager

Everett Maggs

Interim Operations Manager

Annette Tourangeau

Compost Program & Public Outreach Coordinator

Come visit me at the Compost Station and we can talk about New York Yankees Baseball and Harry Potter.

Danielle Murray

Facilities Operator

Vicki Rogers

Transfer Station Attendant

Don Tate

Facilities Attendant

Michele Klimczak